|FYI — February 2005|
|By Brad Dunn|
A Word With... Norm Abram
Q: What are your earliest boating memories?
Q: If you started with a nine-footer, what are you cruising around in today?
Q: Where do you typically go?
Q: Does being a master carpenter help you on the water?
Q: Ever think about starting a new program called This Old Boat?
Q: What do you enjoy most about cruising?
Give ’Em a Break
Fines start at $65 if you’re caught by a local law enforcement agency and $150 if you’re busted in a federally protected zone. However, most of the statewide speed zones are only in effect during the high season of manatee migration, which takes place November 15 to March 31. After that, your throttle can return to its regular position.
Most boaters in Florida live near manatee slow zones, but if you’re trying to plot your next cruise away from them, check out www.floridaconservation.org for a complete map. Actual speed limits vary, but most areas only allow you to go “slightly faster than a no-wake zone.”
The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation says it counted 2,568 manatees across the state in 2004, down from 3,029 the previous year.
Got an interesting boating story for this column? Write to FYI, Power & Motoryacht, 260 Madison Ave., 8th Fl., New York, NY 10016. Fax: (917) 256-2282. e-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org. No phone calls please.
This article originally appeared in the January 2005 issue of Power & Motoryacht magazine.